The department of chemistry was established at the beginning of the academic year 2005/2006. The department offer two degrees with specialization in chemistry and chemical Technology, the latter is a unique program to Tafila Technical University. The department includes seventeen college members in various chemistry majors, in addition to a group of research and teaching assistants, laboratory supervisors and technicians. The department includes five laboratories, each accommodating up to 20 students, namely the organic chemistry laboratory, the inorganic chemistry laboratory, the instrumental analysis laboratory, the general chemistry laboratory and a computer laboratory to teach computer applications in chemistry.